A very difficult victory for Rovanperä in Rally Croatia 2022


Despite the easy start and the accumulation of over a minute lead on the first day Rovanperä K. / Halttunen Jonne (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1) won quite hard Rally Croatia 2022.
Only 4.3 seconds left Rovanperä's lead in the final, pressed hard by Tänak Ott / Järveoja M. (Hyundai i20 N Rally1), who made an impressive second and third day.
Tanak led in the penultimate stage, but in the last Power Stage lost the lead. Neuville T. / Wydaeghe M. (Hyundai i20 N Rally1) finished third at 2: 21.0 and with a huge total of 2 minutes. Thierry Neuville has been handed an additional one minute penalty for ‘multiple severe speeding infringements’ during Friday’s opening leg of the Croatia Rally.
Neuville had engine problems and was losing power.
Breen Craig / Nagle Paul (Ford Puma Rally1) remained in fourth place 3: 07.3, and fifth were Evans Elfyn / Martin Scott (Toyota GR Yaris Rally1), after which the differences became very large.
The drama for Rovanperä came in stage number 11 Platak 1, where he lost 54 seconds due to a flat tire.
At the end of the second day, Rovanperä's lead was 20 seconds ahead of Ott Tanak. Already in the first stage on Sunday, Rovanperä's lead increased to 31 seconds.
In the penultimate stage, Rovanperä lost half a minute due to its choice of tires, but in the last stage the conditions were still suitable for Rovanperä tires and difficult, but still regained the leading position, which won the difficult Rally Croatia 2022. 

Rossel Yohan / Sarreaud V. (Citroën C3 Rally2) finished first in RC2, seventh in the general, followed by Kajetanowicz K. / Szczepaniak M. (Škoda Fabia Rally2 Evo) with a minute behind and second in RC2.
The next race is Rally Portugal on May 19-22.

About the Author


This news item is from RallyPulse - Rally and Auto News