RallyPulse International EN-UK / RallyPulse Bulgaria BGR / Follow us: Facebook Twitter YouTube - Channel 1 YouTube - Channel 2 Dailymotion videos RSS International News Bookmark and Share



RSS Feed The Latest News and Videos  
Calendar - Next Rally
ERC Rally Poland
  21-23 September 2018
WRC Dayinsure Wales Rally GB
  4 -7 October 2018
ERC Rally Liepaja
  12-14 October 2018
WRC Rally RACC Catalunya
  25-28 October 2018
WRC Kennards Rally Australia
  15-18 November 2018
  End of Season 2018
  End of Season 2018
Last Rally Results
WRC Rally Turkey
1 O. Tanak
2 J. Latvala
3 H. Paddon
4 T. Suninen
5 A. Mikkelsen
6 H. Solberg
ERC Barum Czech Rally Zlin
1 J. Kopecky
2 A. Lukyanuk
3 D. Sordo
4 M. Jakes
5 N. Gryazin
6 F. Kreim

Tanak won the YPF Rally Argentina 2018
Posted by WRC - 30/04/18 01:48AM - 0 Comments - WRC - 1/52/53/54/55/5


Ott Tänak (Toyota Yaris WRC), and his co-driver Martin Järveoja, are the champions of the 38° YPF Rally Argentina 2018 after an overwhelming performance throughout the whole weekend. This is the third victory for the Estonian driver on the FIA World Rally Championship and it is the first time that a driver with that nationality wins in our country. Thierry Neuville and Daniel Sordo, the Hyundai i20 Coupé drivers, complete the podium.

A new name is now written among the champions of the only South American round of the WRC: Ott Tänak is now part of the list of those who know how does it feel to win in tough roads like Argentinian’s.

The Estonian driver started the competition losing 24 seconds because of a spin on the first special stage on Friday, but then he started moving up fastly to the top, reaching the first positions on the overall after only three stages. Once on the lead, the Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT driver started widening his advantage on the overall and, after winning 10 out of 18 stages during the weekend. He could get over Neuville by 37.7 and Sordo by 1:15.7.

‚Äč“It is obviously a very special win. We never knew what was going to happen with the team change. It was a big job to get there. It’s nice to see how quick we are improving and we are getting better. All the team is really behind me. I’ve been really enjoying and I’m also very happy for the team. They’ve done a great job, they’ve been pushing so hard to get to this point and we just need to keep going the same way. I can’t say it was easy, I was definitely pushing hard », said the winner of the YPF Rally Argentina 2018.

Sébastien Ogier (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) finished the competition behind the podium drivers, after winning the fight against Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai i20 Coupé WRC). The Norwegian driver won the first two morning stages but it wasn’t enough to give a closure to a great overcome, after falling from the second to the eighth place on the first stage because of a tyre puncture.

A great crowd at El Cóndor and the Giulio Césare

Even though, it seemed that the first final positions of the YPF Rally Argentina 2018 were settled by Sunday morning, more than 100.000 spectators packed out the most emblematic stages of the rally and gave a fantastic closure to the end of the competition.

Neuville got the five extra points at the last stage. He completed 16,43 kilometres with 13:00.8 and went ahead Ogier by 0.4, who add to his performance 4 points. Following them, came Mikkelsen, Tänak and Kris Meeke (Citroën C3 WRC) that got 3, 2 and 1 extra points respectively.

Tidemand took over the WRC2

As in 2017, Pontus Tidemand (Skoda Fabia R5) is the winner of the category in the  YPF Rally Argentina 2018. The Swedish driver achieved the victory after  Kalle Rovanperä (Skoda Fabia R5), who was the leader on the overall until the penultimate stage, abandoned the competition. Gus Greensmith (Ford Fiesta R5) got the second place, while the Chilean driver, Pedro Heller (Ford Fiesta R5), ended on the third stage.

Add a comment

:angry: :flowers: :blink: :pinch: :blushing: :crying: :ermm: :getlost: :grin: :happy: :hug: :kiss: :laugh: :blah: :smile: :sad: :tongue: :wink:

WRC Standings (After Round 10/13)
1. T. Neuville 177
2. O. Tanak 164
3. S. Ogier 154
4. E. Lappi 88
5. J. Latvala 75
6. A. Mikkelsen 75
ERC Standings (After Round 6/8)
1. A. Lukyanuk 150
2. B. Magalhaes 115
3. N. Herczig 62
4. F. Kreim 59
5. N. Gryazin 52
6. S. Galatariotis 50

RallyPulse - Bulgaria


GoForecasts Services

© 2011 RallyPulse | Contact | FAQ | Links | Privacy Policy