RallyPulse International EN-UK / RallyPulse Bulgaria BGR / Follow us: Facebook Twitter YouTube - Channel 1 YouTube - Channel 2 Dailymotion videos RSS International News Bookmark and Share



RSS Feed The Latest News and Videos  
Calendar - Next Rally
WRC Adac Rallye Deutschland
  16-19 Aug 2018
ERC Barum Czech Rally Zlin
  24-26 August 2018
WRC Rally Turkey
  13-19 September 2018
ERC Rally Poland
  21-23 September 2018
WRC Dayinsure Wales Rally GB
  4 -7 October 2018
ERC Rally Liepaja
  12-14 October 2018
Last Rally Results
WRC Neste Rally Finland
1 O. Tanak
2 M. Ostberg
3 J. Latvala
4 H. Paddon
5 S. Ogier
6 T. Suninen
ERC Rally di RomaCapitale
1 A. Lukyanuk
2 G. Basso
3 G. Grzyb
4 F. Kreim
5 B. Magalhaes
6 C. Ingram

WRC Rally Mexico - Ogier/Ingrassia retake championship lead with victory in Mexico
Posted by WRC - 12/03/18 02:50AM - 0 Comments - WRC - 1/52/53/54/55/5


Reigning FIA World Rally Champions Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia claimed a fourth Rally Mexico win today to retake the lead in the Championship. After a determined fight from the start, the Ford Fiesta WRC crew ultimately crossed the finish line with over a minute in hand to Dani Sordo and Carlos del Barrio. This was also the first time a Ford has won in Mexico since Markko Martin raised the trophy in 2004. Sordo moved into second in the day’s opening stage when Kris Meeke ran wide and toppled his C3 WRC on its side; he and co-driver Paul Nagle managed to continue but dropped to third in the process.

In the FIA World Rally Championship, Ogier takes a four-point advantage over arch rival Thierry Neuville, the Belgian enduring a nightmare weekend running first on the road. Andreas Mikkelsen, Kris Meeke and Jari-Matti Latvala are closely matched in third, fourth and fifth respectively. In the Manufacturers’ Championship, Hyundai continues to top the leaderboard and takes a 12-point lead over M-Sport Ford after three rounds. Citroën is just one point adrift with Toyota fourth.

Today’s itinerary included just three stages, the long 24 kilometre Alfaro stage and then two runs through Las Minas, the second one counting as the all-important Power Stage. Ogier led into the day and was faultless through the first two stages, saving tyres for a push for additional championship points. He initially claimed four for second fastest, but after the Stewards deemed he did not go around the elements of a chicane correctly he was penalised 10 seconds. The penalty had no effect on his overall result, but docked him of the Power Stage points. Sordo moved into second on the first stage when, in similar style to last year, Meeke had a final day moment. The Northern Irishman slid wide and ended up in a deep gully with the car on its side. Fortunately he was able to get the C3 WRC back on the road but he lost over 30 seconds to the Spaniard and slipped to third overall.

Andreas Mikkelsen brought his i20 Coupe home in fourth after clouting a bank in the second stage and admitted it was good points in the bag during a weekend when he was not really on the pace. Nine times FIA World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb picked up points for fifth overall after a stunning return to the WRC and his first gravel rally since 2013. The Frenchman will be back in action on the next round in Corsica, again partnering Meeke. Neuville finished sixth after a torrid weekend but he picked up an additional three points in the Power Stage, helping him maintain a close watch on Ogier in the Championship standings. Jari-Matti Latvala finished the highest of the Toyota runners in eighth.

In the FIA WRC 2 Championship, Pontus Tidemand took victory by an enormous margin over Gus Greensmith and, in the FIA WRC 3 Championship, although Tom Williams completed the final stage he retired on the road section back to service.

The FIA World Rally Championship now returns to Europe for Rallye de France-Tour de Corse (5-8 April).

Add a comment

:angry: :flowers: :blink: :pinch: :blushing: :crying: :ermm: :getlost: :grin: :happy: :hug: :kiss: :laugh: :blah: :smile: :sad: :tongue: :wink:

WRC Standings (After Round 8/13)
1. T. Neuville 153
2. S. Ogier 132
3. O. Tanak 107
4. E. Lappi 70
5. D. Sordo 60
6. A. Mikkelsen 57
ERC Standings (After Round 5/8)
1. A. Lukyanuk 120
2. B. Magalhaes 111
3. N. Herczig 62
4. S. Galatariotis 50
5. F. Kreim 43
6. G. Grzyb 40

RallyPulse - Bulgaria


GoForecasts Services

© 2011 RallyPulse | Contact | FAQ | Links | Privacy Policy