RallyPulse International EN-UK / RallyPulse Bulgaria BGR / Follow us: Facebook Twitter YouTube - Channel 1 YouTube - Channel 2 Dailymotion videos RSS International News Bookmark and Share



RSS Feed The Latest News and Videos  
Calendar - Next Rally
WRC Rally Argentina
  27-29 April 2018
ERC Rally Islas Canarias
  3-5 May 2018
WRC Rally de Portugal
  17-20 May 2018
ERC Rally Acropolis
  1-3 June 2018
WRC Rally Italia Sardegna
  7-10 June 2018
ERC Cyprus Rally
  15-17 June 2018
Last Rally Results
WRC Rally Tour de Corse
1 S. Ogier
2 O. Tanak
3 T. Neuville
4 D. Sordo
5 E. Evans
6 E. Lappi
ERC Rally Azores Airlines 2018
1 A. Lukyanuk
2 R. Moura
3 B. Magalhaes
4 C. Ingram
5 F. Ahlin
6 N. Herczig

Elfyn Evans makes history as Welshman wins Dayinsure Wales Rally GB
Posted by WRC - 29/10/17 11:36AM - 0 Comments - WRC - 1/52/53/54/55/5


Elfyn Evans made history today (29 October) by becoming the first British driver to win Britain's round of the FIA World Rally Championship - Dayinsure Wales Rally GB - in 17 years, and the first Welsh driver ever to win any event on the globe-trotting WRC calendar.

In imperious form right from the start, Evans led virtually throughout the epic four-day contest that saw the world's finest rally drivers and co-drivers tackle almost 200 miles of the most demanding forest tracks anywhere on the planet. The man from Dolgellau - navigated by Lancashire's Daniel Barritt - reached the finish at Brenig Reservoir some 37.3 seconds ahead of his closest rival to complete a famous victory that delighted the huge and enthusiastic home crowd.

After coming agonisingly close to winning in Argentina earlier this season - missing out by less than a second after more than three-and-a-half hours of competitive action - Evans has now broken his WRC duck and in fine style, joining British legends Roger Clark, Colin McRae and Richard Burns as the fourth homegrown hero to inscribe his name on the hallowed Peall Trophy.

"It's been a good rally," enthused Evans, who has just three full seasons under his belt in the WRC elite. "I'm incredibly grateful to everybody that has stood by me through all these years - to get to this point has taken a lot. To all the people who have supported me and backed me - this is for you! And this result only makes us even hungrier for more!"

The 28-year-old's success also helped to secure the coveted WRC Manufacturers' title for independent British outfit M-Sport - based just up the road in Cumbria - and a fifth consecutive Drivers' World Championship crown for team-mate Sébastien Ogier, who finished third on-the-road in Wales.
More news and reaction to follow...
2017 Dayinsure Wales Rally GB Final Result

1. Elfyn Evans (GBR)/Daniel Barritt (GBR) - Ford Fiesta WRC 2h 57m 00.6s
2. Thierry Neuville (BEL)/Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL) - Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +37.3s
3. Sébastien Ogier (FRA)/Julien Ingrassia (FRA) - Ford Fiesta WRC +45.2s
4. Andreas Mikkelsen (NOR)/Anders Jaeger (NOR) - Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC +49.8s
5. Jari-Matti Latvala (FIN) /Miikka Anttila (FIN) - Toyota Yaris WRC +50.3s
6. Ott Tänak (EST) /Martin Järveoja (EST) - Ford Fiesta WRC +1m 02.3s

Add a comment

:angry: :flowers: :blink: :pinch: :blushing: :crying: :ermm: :getlost: :grin: :happy: :hug: :kiss: :laugh: :blah: :smile: :sad: :tongue: :wink:

WRC Standings (After Round 4/13)
1. S. Ogier 84
2. T. Neuville 67
3. O. Tanak 45
4. A. Mikkelsen 41
5. K. Meeke 36
6. E. Lappi 36
ERC Standings (After Round 1/8)
1. A. Lukyanuk 37
2. R. Moura 30
3. B. Magalhaes 27
4. C. Ingram 18
5. F. Ahlin 12
6. N. Herczig 12

RallyPulse - Bulgaria


GoForecasts Services

© 2011 RallyPulse | Contact | FAQ | Links | Privacy Policy